Thursday, May 13 2021


Good Morning Carroll ----


Please stand for the ----
PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE:  I pledge allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America, and to the Republic for which it stands: One Nation under God, indivisible, With Liberty and Justice for all.


Please be seated for a ----


*Work Permits ---- students you need to bring in a completed intent to employ form AND your birth certificate to the guidance office.

SENIORS: If you could not attend the awards presentation last evening and feel you have an award to pick up … Please stop by the guidance office at your earliest convenience.


5th period Study Hall in room 217 ---- will meet in the Small Auditorium

 National Honor Society Seniors ----- Honor Stoles are here. If you requested a stole to be purchased for you…..bring $15.00 (cash or check) to Student Services. You can pick them up BEFORE or AFTER school every day NEXT week.

*If you are signed up to take Dual Credit Literary Interpretation – NEXT School year 2nd semester ……stop by Mr. Smith’s – room 240 or Mrs. Jennings – room 258 for information about required texts for next years’ course.  If you are not signed up, but would like information on this Senior level Dual Credit Course through IU, stop by for a flyer.

*Attention freshmen signed up for English 10 Honors for next year: There will be a mandatory call-out meeting THIS Friday, May 14 at either 8:10am or 3:45pm in the CFC Library. You will receive your summer reading assignment, so please plan on attending.

 *Students who took Chemistry class last year: If you are interested in making the tie dye shirt that you missed making when school closed last year --- we will be making shirts after school on Thursday May 20th.  If you are interested, you need to sign up to attend. Check your Canvas email for more details.  Just sign up and bring a white cotton t-shirt to your class from second semester last year.  Please sign up by Friday May 14th.

 *The last day to enjoy books from the library is this Friday.  Please remember to return your borrowed materials before the end of the day on May 14th.

*Attention Students that took AP Environmental Science last school year: You can stop by to pick up a tree from Mr. Walker after school today.









*Girls interested in signing up for Girls Golf for this fall will need to attend a meeting on Friday, May 14th, in the CHS Small Auditorium at 8 am.



*Carroll High School’s TV students recently entered their TV and Video projects into the state wide competition through the Indiana Association of School Broadcasters (IASB). IASB has around 50 high school and career center programs in its membership.
Competition Awards:
Carroll High School 1st Runner-Up, TV School of the Year
TV Package – 1st place Jacob Inman & Brandon Hedges “Alice Drill”
Radio Drama – 1st place Jacob Inman “The Sun Vanished”
Music Video – 2nd place Alana Butts “IDK You Yet”
TV Show Open – 2nd place David Berdan “Studio 415 Open”
Video In-Depth – 3rd place Andy Newman & Jeff Becker “Carroll Wrestling”
Cinematography – 3rd place Daisy Macias
Photojournalism – 3rd place JP Susantio
Corporate Video – 3rd place Daisy Macias & AJ Bane “Fair Willow”
Short Film – 3rd place David Berdan “Worm”
This is the highest number of awards Carroll has ever earned in one year and our highest placement for TV School of the Year in Carroll’s history.

 *Culinary students participated in the state FCCLA and ProStart competitions on April 23rd at Ivy Tech in Indianapolis.
Competition Awards:
Baking and Pastry Competition – Individuals had 2 hours 45 minutes to produce cream puffs, yeast bread, muffins and a decorated cake.  This is a secondary version of the American Culinary Federation Baking Certification. Students that competed:          

  1. Haylie Melendez – Silver Medal – National Qualifier Alternate
  2. Natalie Wright – Silver Medal
  3. Katelyn Novotny – Silver Medal
  4. Cody Landwehr – Silver Medal
  5. Jasmine Anderson – Silver Medal
  6. Corbin Crilly – Silver Medal

Culinary Management Competition – teams of 2-5 students prepare a business plan for a restaurant which includes marketing tactics, SWOT analysis, floor plan, staffing, menu and menu costing and pricing.  They present their plan to “potential investors”. Team members:

  1. Allisson Bell and Emma Armstrong – First Place Winners - $1,000 renewable scholarship to Johnson and Wales University, $2,000 Gold Scholarship to Culinary Institute of Michigan

Culinary Competition – teams of 2-5 members plan, prepare and present a three course meal in one hour. Students complete food costing and menu pricing. They also showcase their knife skills. Teams and members:

  1. Blue Team – Kyleigh Malcolm, Caroline Stuckey and Parker Evans – Second Place Winners - $750 renewable scholarship to Johnson and Wales University for FCCLA and ProStart for a total of $1,500 per year.
  2. Red Team – Hayden Cowart, Andrew Guillaume and Aleah Amstutz – First Place Winners - $1,000 renewable scholarship to Johnson and Wales University for FCCLA and ProStart for a total of $2,00 per year. $2,000 Gold Scholarship to Culinary Institute of Michigan

National Competition – Kyleigh Malcolm, Aleah Amstutz and Hayden Cowart are competing in the virtual National FCCLA competition and will receive their results in July. Unfortunately there will be no National ProStart Competition this year.  We are hopeful for next year!